Number 2, is owned by the Town. Built by the town circa, 1850, this is the only one-room schoolhouse still owned by the town that had remained in unaltered condition since it closed in 1951. The schoolhouse was recently restored to showcase the way the interior looked at the time of closing. This school will remain a museum and reflect a different period of time than the Adamsdale Schoolhouse which local third graders visit for a day. We hope to add the Holmes Schoolhouse to their tour when the restoration is complete.